6 comments on “The Pathetic Single

  1. I think your attitude is totally normal. No one likes to be alone in a crowd of paired-up people. It’s true of any age and stage of life–think of middle school or high school, when your biggest concern in the first few days at a new school was who you were going to eat lunch with or hang out with between classes. And it’s the same at university, when you’re a new student in a sea of other freshmen, wondering who will end up being your friends.

    I think those who can go to family or couple-centred events alone are brave, but I certainly don’t think any less of a single person who feels uncomfortable there and avoids such events.

    • thanks Hana, I do believe most of us are social creatures-enjoying other’s company and when that is not happening it creates such a stress.

  2. I understand completely and it took me a long time to do these things on my own but slowly I realised that if I didn’t I would miss out on so much of what I love if I didn’t. I’ve conquered movies, musicals, lunch ( take a book or magazine ) and travel on my own but I’ve yet to do a concert or a gig. I go through stages though of stomping my feet when I get sick of it – usually when it’s been a while since I’ve done any of these things with anyone, so perhaps a balance is in order.And I’ve given up tickets when people have pulled out too. I’m going through a ‘sick of doing everything solo’ stage at the moment actually.

    So did you go to the event ?

    • No I did not go to the event after thinking alot about it. I agree that a balance is important. I think I too am going through the same sick of doing everything solo phase at this moment which I hate. There are things I do alone without any problems but it’s the other stuff… oh well, I think as a single I just have to make the most of the situation.

    • I think we’re going in the opposite direction. As I’ve gotten older (now 45) I have decided that I’ll miss out on too much of life if I wait for an activity partner. I think you are wrong to think of yourself as the “pathetic” single. More than 50% of women in this country are single. That means, while the event you go to may have families, you are actually part of a growing majority. Don’t beg anyone. Just do it. You’ll meet a lot of people or at least you’ll be able to say you went .

      • Thanks Penny, I do agree with you. I think I am in the down swing of the singleness phase which I am hoping to kick pretty soon. Actually, after the event was over, I did wish I just sucked it up and went. Next time…

Tell Me What You Think

