11 comments on “Is it Wrong for Women to Wait to Settle Down?

  1. The dating scene is a nightmare. One thing I think women need to remember is that the decent men…the ones you most likely would want to date and settle down with…are just as nervous and scared about rejection as you are. A lot of times, it isn’t that you are not date worthy. A lot of times it is some guy is interested in you and he is horrified that you will say no and reject him. Decent guys are out there just as decent girls are out there. Ladies…don’t be afraid to strike up a conversation with some guy or even ask him out. I know the old school method of the guy should initiate all of those sorts of things…but that is a tremendous amount of pressure on a man. Good men want to date good women just like good women want to date good men. And all of the good men aren’t married. Last little piece of advice…think about how high a standard you may be setting for someone who you might date. My girlfriend and I have both discussed how under normal circumstances, we might never have given each other a second thought…yet we have now been together almost 9 months. You just never know. Don;t be afraid to take a risk every now and then.

    • Great advice EB. “he is horrified that you will say no and reject him” I think most of us women don’t always think about this part. It is the expectation that if the guy is interested, then he will be confident enough to approach. Trying to start a relationship is definitely a risk taking game

  2. I’m an older woman (40s) who’s never married. Sometimes I feel bad about that but I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that if I had married any of the guys I dated in my 20s and 30s, I’d be divorced today. I’m just not the same person I was back then. Sometimes I wonder if it’s better to be divorced than never married. How messed up is that! I feel like there is a stigma against someone who’s made it into their 40s and never married but there’s not much I can do about it at this point. I’m still hopeful but who knows.

    • Yes there tend to be a stigma for people who have not been beatened down by life before they hit 35+. It is funny how life is when you make careful choices with your life then people question your decisions. I would not want to be a divorcee at all – so much baggage comes with that. I think most single people, no matter the age, are in your shoes – still hopeful. Afterall, we are not dead yet so why not have hope :-)

    • Yes, I have been married and divorced twice in my life, being my fault for not knowing them long enough. Religion (Mormonism and Christianity) now tell you NOT to explore sexual matters with the opposite gender. I have been basically alone for twenty-one years and am looking for a friend, companionship with a younger female like your age group; for I am healthy, exercise and am in great shape physically despite my age of 63. I look like 50-53 as one woman I talked to told me as I asked her. I changed a lot and continue changing, but believe in treating women with respect and honesty. I am learning a lot about the female sexuality and being feminine. Sex and similar area of closeness is important also, but develops on its own. Michael. – get in touch.

  3. At some point in ANNE OF GREEN GABLES, someone says something to the effect of, “I thought early marriage was a sign of second-rate goods that had to be sold quickly.” :)

  4. I happen to like older women myself but even the women you are talking about don’t like me lol So where does that put me?

    • I don’t know. Sometimes Older women want to be with men their own age. It could be a compatibility thing. It is hard to tell. Being rejected a few women, does not mean there is not someone else out there.

      • Well i am not that much younger than 30 lol.

        True but if these women were looking for a guy why am i not even date worthy to them? Am i just some kind of werido or something?

Tell Me What You Think

