Sick and Tired of Perfect Christians


The purpose of this blog is to talk about real struggles that Christians face on their spiritual journey. I for one am not perfect and will never be but I try to keep the bible and reality in perspective. For most of my adult Christian years, I struggle with Christianity because I have been sick and tired of the perfect Christians with the perfect biblical answers to everything.

I question things. God gave me this sense of curiosity. Even though I frequently ask the “why God?” question, at the end of the day and the moment I wake up I say “thank you God.” My belief in God actually is strengthened by the things and people around me. These are my evidence of a creator and the bible is a guideline. I find a much greater joy in reading my bible by myself  than going to church. I get a rush from going over verses like “each day your mercies are made new” (Paraphrase Lamentations 3: 22,23) “create in me a clean heart o God and renew a right spirit in me” (Psalm 51:10) and become somber by verses like “O God thou know my foolishness and my sins are not hid from you” (Psalm 69: 5). I can go on and on because my bible is highlighted up to the yin yang and has years of my writing in the margins. I know my bible.

One of the most annoying things about religion is that people (christians) do not know how to be honest with themselves about their struggles. I guess it is because honesty may mean that the person lacks faith. I have learnt to be very open with me and with God. Maybe that is the reason I gravitated towards the screw ups in the Bible: Jacob who stole his brother’s birthright; Rahab the harlot and descendant of Jesus; King David (a man after God’s own heart) who ordered Bathsheba’s husband’s death in order to marry her; and Peter who denied Jesus 3x and made some major blunders. Even Jesus was a little unconventional when he healed on the Sabbath, interfered with Mosaic justice when the crowd wanted to stone the adulterous woman, defied his mother to stay behind in the temple when he was a child and became uncharacteristically angry and physically aggressive when he overturned the money changers tables who were in the temple.

Jesus’ humanity showed quite a few times and the most obvious was the Garden of Gethsemane when he prayed and ask the father to take this “cup” away from him if it was the Father’s will. I am a practical person and my slow withdrawal or time out from the church (not God) is because people appear to be too perfect (yes I know that you cannot look at people), too quick to quote scriptures and hide behind it. I have been blessed with a very good Christian friend whom I have known for years. I have to say without her I would have gone completely mad because we have been able to be “real” about our journey. We talk about the good, the bad, the embarrassing  and we do not sugar coat the hard parts of being human and the conflict of being Christian. It’s such a rarity but a very welcomed one.

I see a lot of difficult things and there are no scriptures in the bible to address any of them. The bible is a great guideline but it does not replace or shelter life and experiences. However, I can admit that a good scripture does bring encouragement. I enjoy a praise story like everyone else but the best part of the praise is the reality of what we each struggle with on a daily basis. How honest are you with yourself and God? We can be perfect in church but what is life really like when no one is watching?

6 thoughts on “Sick and Tired of Perfect Christians

      1. Yes. We’d better choose, for we can’t serve two masters at the same time.

        “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.” – Matthew 6:24

        In this case, we cannot serve both God and the flesh.

  1. Yes there are no perfect Christians. But there are Christians who are trying to live and struggle to really live the name as being Christians. For these Christians, CHOOSING what requires of them does not mean that they deny those inordinate desires they have in them… however, after recognizing such… CHOOSING TO TAKE HEED OF GOD’S WAY that following their own will… though some of the characters in the Bible show how they fell out of glory of God and sinned.. and how God forgave them… it is not a ticket for us to choose evil or to be weak with our evil inclinations… we were told to fight evil then it will flee… we were told:

    ‘Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.’ -Matthew 5:48

    It is good to discuss a lot of truths nowadays… in the context of what are happening in these modern… but may we not depart with the truth God has for us… in His very nature and wisdom that we may not be deceived…

  2. We know there is nothing such as a perfect Christians. Anybody alluding to a perfect spirituality is at risk of having to be humbled on a grand scale. I think being honest about our struggles and sins is a good thing. Younger Christians could learn from someone who is completely honest about the true nature of the Christian walk. Yes, a good scripture can be uplifting and hopeful, but sometimes we need more than a scripture to get over the hump.

    If we are not honest we will never be able to find workable solutions to the clash of spiritual life and physical life. The beauty of many of those revered persons of the Bible is that they were not perfect, they had many spiritual struggles. The problems of the world are many and each of us will face an area of struggle spiritually that will probably take our entire lifetime to fix. In reference to King David, at the end of his life God considered David a friend, I don’t recall where God called another person His friend. This gives us hope that God sees our full package and not only our pitfalls, is a fair judge, and will redeem us to full glory .

    1. I too do love the fact that in the Bible God referred to King David, this major sinner, with such a warm regard. It shows how much God looks on the heart and sees everything. Jesus walked with the people who most of the Torah-thumping righteous ones thought were no-body. He was able to look at their human needs such as healing the sick etc as well as their spiritual needs.

Tell Me What You Think

