A Keeping It Real Moment


Tithes and Offerings: It’s My Money

I recognized the purpose and importance of returning my 1/10th back to God. Even when I am not in church, I have to return my tithe. However, sometimes when I am writing my check (yes I still use checks) to my church there is a moment of “why the hell am I giving away money and I don’t know where it goes?” It seems harder to write that check to the church than to pay bills. I think it’s because we have all heard of pastors and the upper echelon of the church getting rich off our hard earn money. This idea floats in my mind that this is what is happening to my tithe. The way I reconcile this issue is that the Lord asks for this return and whatever the stewards of the money do with it then they will have to answer to God. 

My twist on tithing: A few years ago, I decided to help out two trusted family members who really needed it by opting to give my 10% to them over the period of a few months instead of to the church because I could not afford to do both. I figured God would understand

3 thoughts on “A Keeping It Real Moment

  1. Wow! The best way to comment on your post is to answer your question about giving to the church. 2 Corinthians 9: 5-7 — Paul is speaking to the Church at Corinth, “Therefore I thought it necessary to exhort the brethren to go to you ahead of time, and prepare your generous gift beforehand, which you had previously promised, that it may be ready as a matter of generosity and not as a grudging obligation. But this I say: He who sows sparingly will reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.” I hope this helps.

    1. I understand the context of that passage and each person has to make tithing a decision for themselves. I give no matter what because it is an obligation now as it was when the old and new testament was written. The reason for tithing was very clear because it went towards the Levites-the ministers of God (old testament) and the early Christian church (new testament). After it started when God ask Cain and Able for a portion of their earnings. However, these days it is not as clear where the money goes and a lot of people (in and out of the church) does have this wandering thought about their return to God being put to good use vs personal gain.

      1. Maybe you should question the church in which you attend. I know where the my money goes because every donation given and every check written is posted for the members to see. Maybe you are not really having an issue with giving to God but a trust issue with the leaders of your church. Do not put yourself in Cain’s position by not giving God your best because you can not see where your money is going, Ask someone to explain it. If they are not willing to tell you, evaluate the place in which you worship. That is the easy part. Besides the old testament is for our learning, we live under the new law… that is why we are called Christians (the Gentiles) and not the Jews who still live under the old law and believe that Jesus is not the son of God our Savior. Read Mark 12: 41-44. it should help you with that issue. It is not about the tithe(the 10%) it is about the giving part and it does not matter how much it is as long as it is given in cheerfulness to the lord. If there is truly mishandling of money, God will surely take care of that, but he will also take care of you. That is why it is called Faith. I am not trying to preach at you, just show you from the inspired word.

Tell Me What You Think

