Gay and Christian… Oxymoron?


The church does not hide the fact that it brands homosexuality an abomination. The recent news coverage of California overturning the ban on gay marriage may have sent quite a few priest and pastors into fervent prayer and preachings of the end of the world. 

Interestingly, when Christians talk about gay people, they immediately go to the sexual aspect of the relationships. I find it funny how that is the only time religion takes an interest in sex. When I was a child living outside the US, there was an unequivocal intolerance for gay men (there were never any mention of lesbians so I had no idea there was such a think of two women being together). I remember a neighbour across the street was identified as “he is that” but to be honest I still did not really get it.

Over the years, on the infrequent occasions when the pastors speaks about abominations then homosexuality would  surface and the story of Sodom and Gomorrah would accompany it. So again, I never really paid much attention to the gay issue because it did not affect me and I did not know any gay people. My curiosity about homosexuality piqued when at a community college there were pamphlets being handed out to promote safer sex and behold there was one for gay men. I had to say I was completely embarrassed about the candid pictures and information but I took that pamphlet and a few others because I was curious. Keep in mind that my father can be very legalistic with his beliefs and having such a discussion (which would happen years later) would only result in him saying repeatedly “they are going to hell.”

I have to say over the years I have had some questions regarding this issue and religion. The most important is homosexuality a choice behavior or biological? Maybe my irritation started when Christians would consider homosexuality the worse sin the bible and ignore all the other stuff most church people do. It was years ago when I heard a speaker say (speaking to heteros) what if you woke up one morning and the world was gay and people told you that being attracted to someone from the opposite sex was a sin and you had to change your orientation. What would you do?

ummmm…I had to think about that for a moment. All sorts of questions ran through my mind like if being gay is biological and not a choice how should the issue be approached from the Christian perspective? Did God knowingly create people who will inevitably go straight to hell because of something they can not help? How would a gay person fit in with a church, bible and God that says your natural attraction is a sin? Over the years, as I have met gay men and women who are “nice” and monogamous, it has become difficult for me to view the gay issue objectively. On one hand, the bible condemns it and on the other is it an innate preference? Is there truly such a thing as being a gay Christian and can you ‘turn’ someone from gay to straight?. I am torn about the idea that ‘all gay people is inherently loss.’ I am torn about the feeling that God would punish a group for just their sexual orientation.  

What I do have  a clear picture of is that today gay and straight people flaunt their promiscuous sexual behaviors  as if it was as appropriate as drinking tea. I have no conflicting religious issues over irresponsible sexual behavior from anyone and I absolutely do not believe in bisexuality. Call me politically incorrect but bisexuality is a fad and a sign of the popular times. Men and women are proclaiming that they get the best of both worlds. I can admit that I am way less tolerant for such choices than I am for someone who wants to serve God and is gay.

According to the bible, homosexuality and Christianity is an oxymoron. The thing that bothers me is the hatred that spew from ‘good Christian’ men and women towards people who are gay. However, they do not have such intense passion for the minor sins like cheating, stealing, domestic violence and even child abuse. Those other sins are more likely to be quietly forgiven by the congregation and overlooked.  Because of my personal conflict with this issue, I have simply accept a person regardless of orientation and I will let God sort out the rest.

3 thoughts on “Gay and Christian… Oxymoron?

  1. I too have come to the conclusion that gays are here and they’re here to stay. Most churches will always consider homosexuality sinful as per our Bible. However, I have seen the emergence of various churches that openly accept and even ordain homosexual ministers, and whose congregation is disproportionately homosexual. It is shocking on one level and not shocking on another. Christianity has always gone through cycles, from persecution of Christians in the early church, to the reformation in Europe, now we are going through another cycle of acceptance of all ppl regardless of sexual orientation. All I can say is that we have been commissioned to love our brother as ourself, and if that was to be taken literally then we will have to love homosexuals as equally as non-homosexuals and let God handle the rest.

    1. The bible did talk quite alot of love thy neighbour; however, I have noticed that homosexuality seems to be the new unpardonable sin for most strict christians.

    2. Let me correct something that you stated in your reply about Christianity, the inspired word has not changed or gone in cycles only man (and woman) has changed the way they have worshiped. As for homosexuality, churches do not consider homosexuality a sin.. God said that it was an abomination. Here are some verses you may want to consider reading and studying to clarify what will seperate you from God. For it is written,(Matt 6:24) that “no one can serve two masters; for he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.”
      Romans 12:21 – Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.
      Romans 13:13-14 – Let us walk properly (decently-was defined in the margin), as in the day, not in revelry and drunkenness, not in lewdness and lust, not in strife and envy. But put on the lord Jesus Christ and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.
      1 Corinthians 3:16-17
      1 Corinthians 5:1-13
      Ephesians 5:1-17 (the whole chapter would be good)
      Hebrews 13: 1-5
      2 Peter 2:1-15

Tell Me What You Think

