Tis The Season of Commercialized Love


                                              

Valentine’s day is back again. Most people either vehemently hate it or romanticize it. I stagger back and forth on that scale over the years but usually land in the middle. In school, it was a big deal because as a young girl I wanted to have been acknowledged by some guy just like all the other girls so, back then, it was distressing to be Valentineless.  These days I sleep through it just like another day.

Valentine’s day is more for women than men. I have yet to hear a guy jump with glee about shopping for or creating a romantic moment for his woman. The flowers and chocolate redundancy has made it easy for the very lazy unromantic man to save his arse at the last-minute and hope that those useless tokens are enough to be rewarded later. A coworker and I make fun of a Kay Jewelers commercial that has the woman overreacting to a lightning storm and the guy barfing up some ridiculous drivel that no straight man would utter.

My problem with Valentine’s day is that the idea of romance should not be a reminder on the yearly calendar. Sort of like, remembering that God exist only on Easter and Christmas day. The women who hang their spandex on this day are the once who are missing that loving feeling throughout the rest of the year which makes this a distasteful reminder that some couples do not work on their relationships daily. Sort of like we need to work on our connection with God more than one time a week or twice a year.

When I received my first Valentine jester many years ago, it was disappointing because I recognized that it took a calendar day to have the guy who was interested to make a move and I was not impressed. These days the symbolism of Valentines are not my cup of tea: I hardly wear jewelry, not fond of cut flowers and don’t care for chocolate. Furthermore, if the guy has not shown his ‘love’ throughout the year, then I will be less likely to appreciate his gestures on a commercialized day of romance.

 It may just be me but I like the element of surprise. I enjoy the idea that a person would be thinking about me on any random day and find it in his heart to do something ‘romantic’ or that would bring me pleasure and vice versa. Is it too much for a woman to ask for a daily valentine? As a single, Feb 14th is not as threatening as it use to be. I have grown up and expect much more than roses and heart-shaped candy. My requirements for love is a search within a person and what we can offer each other long-term with some added prayer to God to help me make the right choices. So, the world can keep their Feb 14th because I set my sights on something bigger which is a Valentine endorsed by God who is on the job 365 days of the year and 366 on leap years 😉

2 thoughts on “Tis The Season of Commercialized Love

  1. If a girl doesn’t have a boyfriend or husband, and if the boyfriend doesn’t get her something for Valentines day [she should let him go] then her DAD should get her roses or candy, etc. (i know girls have daddies) especially teen girls

    1. Assuming that the daddies are around, that’s an interesting alternative. However, I doubt most fathers will do that because Valentine’s day signifies romantic love

Tell Me What You Think

