Struggling Christians: Admit To Your Dirty Laundry


 copied image

In the past few years, I have come to a conclusion that there is a certain facade to Christianity that will never go away because we are all fallible. By being fallible, we want to present to the world something less distasteful; so, we invent the appearance of perfection. Every church presents smoke and mirrors and so do the members; however, once you clear the air then the reality of just how corruptible we are is very clear and no one likes what s/he sees.  I guess this is one reason why we should be exceedingly thankful is that God forgives completely.

I give no illusions that I DO identify with the Christians who admit to making egregious mistakes. I am in no way politically or Christianly correct (a good number of my posts highlight that which is the point of my blog). The ability to admit to being corrupted has somehow made me crave for God more than ever. The moment I admitted to being a bad Christian was the moment I recognized how much Jesus’ perfection is very necessary. I started learning from my mistakes and I can admit that I had to repeat them a few times before I got it. However, here is the kicker-those past mistakes are still a present struggle. Struggles that I will never deny at least to myself and God.

Catholicism adopted the issue of the 7 deadly sins:  wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony. I am sure there are more that do not fall into either of those categories and each person has been touched and struggles with at least 2 of those. A recent post from another blog condemned a mega church pastor who defended a fellow mega church pastor who committed sexual crimes against underaged young men in his church. The issue of forgiveness came up. The pastor made a point to say that the church members should support their pastor just as he supported his church members who had made mistakes in their lives. That view gave me something to think about. In reality, if that sexually deviant man was my pastor, I would condemn him and walk away from that church. I would immediately have said he should have known better. Something to think about is that those are the same words atheist and agnostics say when us professed Christians screw up royally.

My only comment on that issue is that forgiveness is an act that requires divine intervention in order to truly forgive someone of certain sins. ‘We should know better!’ Shouldn’t we? Afterall, we are the chosen with a close connection to God. We understand the whole issue of Christ dying etc etc. So why do we still struggle and pretend that we don’t? How is it more acceptable to condemn someone versus admitting that we have our own shit in a closet too? There is something about religion (and money) that breeds a holier-than-thou attitude.

As for me and my sinful nature, I like talking about mine and others’ struggles. I can assume that most Christians are hesitant to share, will publicly condemn, but they will certainly think about the things I blog about and so much more.  It gives a weird sense of reality and being grounded that Christ took a couple nails, thorns, and sword for my dirty laundry. It makes Christianity very real to me. It gives me a reason to read the Bible and seek God’s answers.

4 thoughts on “Struggling Christians: Admit To Your Dirty Laundry

  1. As Christians, we really do wear masks–perhaps almost to the point like in the movie “The Mask” where it starts getting hard to take off. If we don’t put James 5:16 into practice with fellow believers we can trust and genuinely live out God’s Word, how will we grow spiritually, and the world will never be able to see the church as anything but hypocrites.

  2. This is a tricky set of topics and can’t be glossed over with a general brush.

    As far as the “leader” he needs to be sat down. Leaders are Biblically held to a higher standard and if any one of them can’t stand the heat of the office, they should sit themselves down. Not only was he accused of a sin, he was accused of a CRIME! It’s easy to talk about forgiveness and restoration for him until it’s your son that is a plaintiff in the case. Forgiveness is often erroneously associated with endorsement. We should forgive AND he should be “punished” according to the laws of man and God.

    Christians, (this is a general statement) are more focused on drawing men to them and not to Christ. If we stopped trying to hide behind our “look how good I am” sign, and instead picked up and hid ourselves behind the blood stained cross, we might receive mercry when WE need it.

    When I hear a Christian say “I am not perfect” I wonder why make the statement of the obvious. Has the facade, subliminal or otherwise, presented from many pulpits gotten that deep into our psyche?

    OFF TOPIC: This is why when I was dating, I was not interested in dating “church men”. I prefer a man who is self aware and admits to his “stuff” and is honest about it instead of trying to stuff his sexual practices and his ego in a closet Sunday morning only to slowly open the closet door Monday morning, hoping it doesn’t all fall out and crush him. I digressed…

    Conclusion: until we as Christians tell the truth about who we are, we will never be free.

    1. CeRaLa,
      I think the perfection syndrome is drilled into most of us and the longer we are in the church then that characteristic is expected. This unbiblically sanctioned expectation is what drive people to hiding things in the closet. So when someone says “I am not perfect” they are becoming aware (debunking the myth that Christians should be perfect) of this very obvious flaw in our lives. I agree about the confusion about Forgiveness vs. Legal or otherwise consequences. I think the church misuses the section in the bible that talks about airing dirty laundry to the unbelievers and working things out amongst themselves. There was an incident in my old church in which the treasurer stole large sums of money over a few years. The church forgave without consequences; however, the person’s actions were so extensive (federal crime) that the law had to be involved and the person is in prison.
      “Conclusion: until we as Christians tell the truth about who we are, we will never be free.” I wholeheartedly agree

    2. I just wanted to quickly comment on the off topic part. It’s really interesting to not date “church men”. For the longest time, I’ve wanted a church man because I want to give my entire life to ministry and can’t see that working with a man who doesn’t do the same. It’s crazy, though, to think about how many church men only give themselves publicly, but privately remain untransformed.

      Maybe a missionary man is the way to go 🙂

      Or possibly just a man who loves Jesus… and I oughtn’t to take into regard how overtly he’s involved in public ministry.

Tell Me What You Think

