Christianity For My Own Pleasure


As Christians we can certainly become a ‘preachy’ bunch of people. Come to think of it, it’s not just Christians but those groups who believe that they have cornered the market on morality and everything good and decent. At some point or another, each person is judgemental and believe that his/her way is the right way. I can readily admit or shout that I do not practice every true and holy thing according to the Bible.

A commenter in a few blogs ago, noted that she took a stance on a specific topic because she has a vested interest. So, I got to thinking as always, when it comes to Christianity do we take a stand for something because it is about our own pleasure instead of what God wants? Do we go a step further and find ways to biblically justify our choices? It is disappointing to say but I am very guilty of such behaviors. I have to be honest that if I  were to be a close replica of Christ, then my life would resemble that of a nun sort of like mother Teresa. If I should truly take the cross Jesus bore, then I would say “screw Christianity because that’s just too darn hard.”

Think about Jesus’ version of Christian lifestyle and see how it fits in with our own simple pleasures:     *  Jesus was a humble and unassuming man with no earthly possession. I don’t like hand-me- downs,  refuse to shop at thrift stores and only buys new things. I can’t imagine going through life not owning something in this world.   *He slept wherever he could lay his head. I totally love the comforts of a bed, supportive pillow and a decent roof over my head.  *He wandered all over depending on others’ generosity. I absolutely love my independence and it’s hard for me to ask people for help.  *He was content to be celibate and single. I do not find that lifestyle appealing.  *He prayed and commune with God more often than not. I spend majority of my day working then come home to relax by watching mindless crap on tv.  *Blessings usually came out of his mouth first. I would condemn you to hell first then realize that was so wrong.  *Jesus found contentment. I am never quite or fully satisfied.  *Jesus hung out with the really poor and the lower than low masses. I try to avoid them unless I am doing charity work and I certainly do not want to be one of them.

I can honestly say that I don’t want to be as selfless as Jesus because it’s just not for me. It just seems that if I did become more like Christ, then there are some simple pleasures I would have to lay down in order to pick up the cross. The bible talks about the concept of dying to one’s self ie. learning to think outside our own pleasures in order to be fully connected to God. The reality is this is a difficult thing to do in this day and age when technology and progress is hell-bent on making life easier, being more focused on  personal needs, and enjoying ourselves.

Think of the story of the rich young ruler whom Jesus had suggested that he gave up his wealth to follow him. The bible said he left Jesus’ presence sadden because he was considerably rich. Well, if I were the one being asked to give up the comforts of my life to trek around wherever the spirit moved me without a penny to my name, then I would be weeping as well. Would you be so quick to let all your current pleasures go?

Every day I recognize my faults and they are extensive, it makes me aware how very unworthy I am of Christ’s death, love and forgiveness. More often than not, it makes me embarrassed to call myself Christian because I find it difficult to carry Christ’s cross.

4 thoughts on “Christianity For My Own Pleasure

  1. I must confess to also being guilty of this–wanting the benefits of Christianity, without the tough rubber-meets-the-road obedience to Christ. I know I certainly can’t do it in my own strength, which is where God steps in…Paul touches on this in Romans 7:21-24: “So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death? Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

  2. Hi, the thing is, Jesus was a very happy person. When we take on His yoke, His burden (Matt 11:30) we are happy too.

    To surrender completely to Jesus gives way to the Spirit which produces all the good fruit. Carnal fruit is conditional, it needs something to experience delight but Spirit fruit is freedom and peace. If we rely on the world for gratification then we are in bondage.

    The fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23) is the way to go. Who doesn’t want all that?

    Blessings

    1. Mitchell,
      I agree that the fruits of the spirit are the desires of every Christian. Sometimes we get there and sometimes we miss the mark because life gets in the way. Look at Peter who screwed up so many times before he got the hang of what God wants from him. I am also sure (even though the bible does not include) is that he probably screwed up a few more times after Christ ascended. That’s the power of God’s forgiveness, we are able to recognize our mistakes and get a second and even a 70 x 7 chance.

Tell Me What You Think

