Keeping It Real: Are You Still Hungry?


 copied image

Happy Labor Day! It is yet another holiday to participate in one of America’s favourite past time- eating. I couldn’t help but think of an incident a few months ago when I broke one of the two cardinal rules for women. The first is regarding age and the second regarding weight.

Two friends and I went out to dinner to celebrate my birthday and the final leg of our trip. Great restaurant and great food. Needless to say, we all ate and were quite full. Not more than 10 minutes, one of my friends decided she wanted to buy herself more food ie. junk food. Without a second thought, I uttered the words “are you still hungry?” This friend is significantly overweight and says she is working out and watching what she eats. After the words left my mouth, I realize what I said and that mild shock was echoed on my other friend’s face. Luckily, the person I addressed the question to was not offended and went off to buy her candy.

On one hand, I realize what I said would be considered rude but on the other hand, I said it out of curiosity. How could anyone still think of food after all we just ate less than 10 minutes ago? Besides me breaking the cardinal rule of mentioning her weight in a round-about-way, she was not embarrassed to be gorging herself. Maybe it’s just me, but I find it nuts how so many people make themselves slave to food, then fuss about their weight. I am sure I am not the only one who have said something politically incorrect about someone’s weight unintentionally.

2 thoughts on “Keeping It Real: Are You Still Hungry?

  1. Truth is, we tend to eat too much–until our blood test comes back with different ideas about we can and cannot eat. I like to think the rule should be “eat smarter, not harder.” As we get older, we all will have to give up some foods and cut back, so it’s better to start now. Find healthy foods that taste good (yes, they do exist) and focus on what you can eat, not what you can’t.

Tell Me What You Think

