Is An Assertive Woman An Abomination?


The ultimate image in assertiveness. Malala Yousafzai –  who was shot for having a voice.

Christianity esteems women who ‘know their place.’ Usually that means a woman who says yes to almost everything her husband says, who is Suzie Homemaker, has a very soft-spoken voice, meek to a fault, her opinions are marginal, and excessively devoted to all things religious. At least that is the stereotype.

What I find to be a bit interesting is that many women who took center stage in the Bible had some traits that are not normally attributed to Christian women. Eve was curious, exploratory, a little independent and defiant. Ruth was cunning, strong, and industrious. Rahab and Mary Magdalene were survivors who became involved in an industry that could have gotten them killed. Hannah was a very determined woman. Esther a strategic thinker.

I have said from the dawn of time that I will never date or become involved with a pastor or anyone who aspires to be one. Why? Well, I know that I would have the poor man disgraced and kicked out of his church :-). I can be opinionated, argumentative and confrontational. I question things because that is my nature. I am sure as people see those words they imagine me as a horrible person no one wants to be around and possibly the reasons why I am still single. LOL.

I have come to relish straight talk and being clear and open. Opinionated means exactly that I have an opinion that may agree or disagree with someone else’s. I love hearing other people’s views because it allows me see other’s world view and share my own. Argumentative does not always mean shouting or anger. Lawyers, columnist, debate teams have great skills when it comes to being argumentative and so do you when someone tells you there is no God. Confrontation does not also mean anger or maliciousness. In therapy, confrontation denotes challenging a client on damaging behaviors or thoughts in order to help awareness and insight. These are all behaviors we do with friends, family and coworkers; however, they are not attributes that are appreciated in women especially those in the church.

My college professor once told me (after reviewing a psych test I completed for our undergrad class) that I seem to have a problem with authority. I promptly told him no but I will disagree with anyone if I think he/she is wrong. Years later I still remember that and chuckle because there is some truth to his assessment.

People tend to confuse assertive with aggressive; however, these are two different concepts. You can check the dictionary for the distinction. An assertive man is valued because he’s considered a strong man; however, an assertive woman is considered a difficult bitch by both genders. I remember once either reading or hearing a pastor’s wife said she did not argue or defy her husband on a specific issue even though she knew he was wrong. She felt that it was her place and God sanctioned to allow her husband to be wrong and subsequently failed then he learned the lesson more effectively than if she contradicted him. My first thought was “both you and your husband are idiots.” There seem to a prevailing idea that an assertive (not aggressive) woman wants to challenge the manhood of a man. However, I see things as if a man is afraid of an assertive woman, then he needs to rethink his strength, rethink his self-esteem, and self-image as a man. More than likely, he will still have these feelings even around assertive men.

The stupid stuff that we often times tag to God amazes me to no ends. There seems to be a great limitation when it comes to women’s personality traits. We are relegated to a handful and anything outside of that is deemed negatively – Satan inspired. Frankly, I like being assertive. I like getting my points and opinions across to those around me and I like hearing others views as well. I like the fact that people have a better understanding of me and not some false impression of what others think a woman should be. I have great respect for pastors’ wives. Their facade is flawless in public and it keeps them within tradition and expectation of their roles. Or could it be that pastors marry women who already have a quiet and agreeable personality which fits into the image?

It has always been sad and frustrating when to see women who have their own thoughts and opinions and are so afraid or ‘shy’ to speak. There are lots of evidence as to why the ‘quiet’ woman is the first  of whom to be taken advantage, the ones who suffer in silence, the ones whose needs are never met, and who harbour some unhappiness due to all or some of the above.

The interesting thing is Christian women do not fit into one mold no more than all women are the same. There are guidelines for Christian women’s behaviors; however, it falls on a spectrum not a fixed point. Frankly, I would love to see more assertive women in the church because they would have a lot to offer to the old and new Christian women  in the organization. They would even reeducate Christian men to the diversity of personalities of good Christian women.

Find and use your voice.

8 thoughts on “Is An Assertive Woman An Abomination?

  1. I found this blog via Insomnia ridden google links and I’ve read articles here before, but feel the need to comment on a few things:

    I) I would be careful to brush past millennia of Christian views by discussing modern gender roles.
    “Christianity esteems women who ‘know their place.’ Usually that means a woman who says yes to almost everything her husband says, who is Suzie Homemaker, has a very soft-spoken voice, meek to a fault, her opinions are marginal, and excessively devoted to all things religious. At least that is the stereotype.”

    I cannot fathom where this generalization arises from. The remarkable amount of esteem given to Mary in multiple denominations of Christianity, the massive amounts of Saints, social-workers, and Christian activists disproves this notion from the start. If I were to list a set of powerful women from scripture, this post would be relegated to tl;dr, but I will list a few that immediately come to mind.

    The massive amounts of Saints canonized by Roman Catholicism, Eastern Orthodoxy, Anglicanism, Lutheranism, and other denominations. Joan of Arc, St. Brigid of Ireland, St. Quiteria…

    Blessed Mother Theresa in the last century.
    Harriet Tubman, Sojurner Truth in the 1860’s.

    I could go on, the list is exasperatingly long.

    To make such a statement is to be a historical revisionist and, frankly, wrong (but more on this in my third point).

    II) I feel that you are falling into the trap of seeing traditional masculine roles as being positive and traditional female roles as being negative. Disregarding, for the moment, the theological and existential debates of gender identity and God’s nature, I will quote the Blessed G.K. Chesterton, a Christian Author, largely forgotten, but an author whose writings impacted C.S. Lewis, Mumford & Sons, Hitchcock, Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Stephen King, J.R.R. Tolkien, Orson Welles, George Orwell, Malcom Muggerridge (to, again, name but a few):
    “Indeed, he is not so free. Of the two sexes the woman is the more powerful position. For the average woman is at the head of something with which she can do as she likes; the average man has to obey orders and do nothing else. He has to put one dull brick on another dull brick, and do nothing else; he had to add one dull figure to another dull figure, and do nothing else. The woman’s world is a small one, perhaps, but she can alter it.”
    – All Things Considered [1908]

    I’m not arguing for Stepford Wives, on the contrary, I feel that your text is arguing for women to become more like men, which is, in itself the largest complaint against fourth wave feminism. Your argument should be for all people to be more assertive, not just women, if you feel that being assertive is a universally positive quality.

    III) Your argument is best against suburban middle-class Protestantism. It fails to take into consideration the massive amounts of power wielded by wives and mothers who are stay at home and run the family with great assertion. It seems to be founded on this prosaic “1950’s” model of the Western White Family. Gender roles have changed drastically in some areas and remained similar in others across a wide-sweeping range of cultures and civilizations. In Ancient Rome and Medieval Europe, women of the lower classes had much more freedom and many were unmarried due to the relatively small sizes of towns, especially in Medieval Europe. It was the Aristocratic and Noble women who were tied to being stay-at-home (Or Locked-In-Tower) wives. Before the Industrial revolution in England, women and children were given much more liberty and freedom. This may have not always been seen politically, but it cannot be denied except to discount and ignore vast historical evidence. It is a crude argument, too keenly focused and thus too esoteric to be of any real use.

    IV) I am also concerned with your treatment of Clergy. I have known many Pastor’s wives that were vocal and vital to Church Leadership and Church movements, and for you to write them off, is both distressing and offensive, to them, and the Holy Church.

    Finally, I have known Christian Men who have abused scripture for their own purposes. Likewise, I have known Christian women to do the same. I have known dominating misogynistic husbands and unrelenting manipulative wives. This is not a problem with Scripture, but a problem of Sin. This is erroneous. An example of eisegesis and failed historical context of Scripture. You writing is defensive and aggressive, and not assertive. There are tinges in your writing of past hurt, present resentment, and bitterness. None of these are of Christ. Nor am I suggesting that these elements are representative of you, I comment only on the writing sample above. There are men who have no assertive traits whatsoever. I am mentoring two men right now, who are extremely soft-spoken and shy. There are shy people in the world, and not all are called to be firebrands. Many of the greatest Christians are soft-spoken, humble, and the world has seen them as “pushovers”. It is my opinion, that these meek will inherit the world. Freedom of Speech, freedom of thought, freedom of expression, equality, and liberty are unfair, unjust, and equally unequal between the sexes, and to proclaim that ‘women are more at risk’ is ridiculous, unless you are referring specifically to a specific culture.

    Christian Men and Women do not honor Christ by pressing their own rights. Our Lord did not press his when he was unjustly beaten to an unrecognizable pulp, nailed to a cross, and publicly humiliated. I have no problem with the attack and insulting of religious hypocrites.

    All Christians should be humble, considerate, tender, and peaceful; as, was our Lord and Savior. Husbands should submit to their wives, even unto death, and wives should submit to their husbands. Christians should respect authority (Romans 13.1) and have the humility to be taught and to listen. Both sexes should, if they plan on following Christ. Christ taught with authority, but he was filled with compassion and mercy. He also could teach with authority, because he was righteous. If you are struggling with Authority, it may be that you have past hurts and tender sores that need to be healed. Perhaps not. I, myself, have struggled with authority much of my life, and it takes constant prayer and thought to remind myself of who I serve and worship and how he dealt with those in Authority. If a person can not submit to their spouse, in-love, I cannot fathom how they could submit to Christ, who is the Groom of the Church.

    Women have played a vital and vibrant role in the Church, both historically and spiritually. Your blog seems to take this huge theological, sociological, psychological, and cultural problem personally. Would it not be better to take a Pastor/Christian Teacher’s concepts and deal with them constructively and critically? Say, Mark Driscoll, that blowhard of a misogynist? Do a critical study of the lives of great Christian Saints and give practical edification to your readers. Compose an exegetical study on the texts often used to misrepresent Christian Dogma along with historical and literary context.

    But this writing is a rant and rave. It seeps in bitterness and aggression. It is a polemic and after reading it thrice I can find no specific target, except the whole world.

    And, Malala Yousafzai was an inspiration. Much like Benazir Bhutto. But, don’t forget Esther John, a Christian nurse who was killed in Algeria, or the Trappist Monks who stayed in their mission to be assassinated, or Liaquat Ali Khan who was the first Pakistani Prime Minister, or Ghandi, MLK Jr., Joan of Arc, Thomas Beckett, Titus Brandsma, Folke Bernadette, Tom Fox, Saint Lucy. I think it is demagogic and misleading to lead off with “The ultimate image in assertiveness. Malala Yousafzai – who was shot for having a voice.” No, she was shot because she was advocating peace. As millions have died before her, and millions will die after for. The ultimate image in assertiveness? Christ. Who wasn’t killed because he was a man or because he had a voice, but because he was a political threat. The opposite of assertive: timid. You know who was timid? The Apostles. Until they received the Holy Spirit. It is not a sin to be timid, female or male. It is not a sin to be assertive, male or female. It is, however, a Sin to be proud, demanding, and self-righteous. The question comes from, where does your assertiveness come from? The knowledge you are right, or the knowledge of Christ?

    If I have missed the point, I am truly sorry. By no means is this meant to be personal attack, merely a closed reading on the above entry. I make no assumptions of your own spiritual state, only comment on the words listed above.

    Shalom Shabbot

    1. LPSeudonyyml,
      First, thank you for reading and responding. I welcome others who have differing opinions and I do not take your reply as a personal attack. My views are exactly that- my views of the world and my experiences. I usually write from a female’s point of view because I am female so I welcome men to share their own. I also do agree that I have a feminist view point as well. I come from a behavioral health background which had exposed me to a darker side of society and religion which can present itself as angry but not bitter. I have always talk about my own religious struggles and that is the fodder for this blog. Anyway, I will try to address your points. So here goes.

      I cannot and obviously did not mention all the women in the Bible or the world who had significant impact on society. My view is that these women’s behaviors are considered extraordinary because they were outside a set expectation for women. A ‘respectable’ woman of the church or society have boundaries in what she can/cannot/should/should not do. You mentioned the lower class Greeks who had ‘freedoms.’ However, even back then, women’s freedom were still limited in many ways including not being taken seriously. This is still happening in many societies today as well as in many households in the free western and modern countries. Religions have always been one aspect of society that holds firmly to antiquated believes on gender roles and gender behaviors. Women usually get the short end of the stick.

      Christianity always valued certain behaviors for a ‘good Christian woman.’ I am not pulling this out of thin air. Many religions also restrict women as well. In regards to traditional roles, Yes I do see SOME traditional female roles as negative. Being without a voice and giving up one’s power to others can be and have been detrimental to women. Harriet Tubman – a former slave was taught to ‘shut up and accept’ the brutality of slavery (this was the accepted and encouraged behavior of the masses); Margaret Sanger- a white female activist also was told to ‘shut up and accept’ that white women were property; however, both these women choose to use their voices (in different ways), take back the power and made history changing impacts. I think we might be on the same page about there being great women throughout history; however, on differing views on the impact of society on a respectable women’s behaviors.

      Men and women can honor Christ by pressing their own rights. For Harriet Tubman, Christianity of that era encouraged women as property, slavery and brutality. Keep in mind that even the Bible did not condemn slavery however, our modern society and Christianity does. Jesus himself was quite assertive and the most extreme behavior that was noted in the bible was him overturning the tables in the temple. Jewish law said that Mary Magdalene was to be stoned for adultery (capital punishment for crimes was not a sin); however, Jesus put a whole new spin on the situation. I agree that Christians should be humble, considerate, and tender. Peaceful….well it depends on the situation. King David a man after God’s own heart was doing God’s will when he became involved in different wars. Peaceful may go out the window if your religious liberty rights are being infringed. There is a time for everything under the sun.

      In regards to how and what I write in the blog. I am one for raw feelings and thoughts. I have said before that if someone comes to this blog expecting a sermon or highly inspirational lessons, then they should continue to other blogs. Why do I write this way? I have said it before and will continue to say it. When I pray, I put everything out there to God. I think society and Christianity is so caught up in pretty words and ‘appropriate’ appearances that people get lost. It may be a side effect of having worked in behavioral health in which pretenses are completely and utter shit. If I am thinking or feeling a particularly way, then I know someone else out there is experiencing the same thing but had no clue that others share those same thoughts and feelings. Yes, I sometimes rant and rave and that may not be for everyone. I am okay with that as well. After my ranting and raving, I do usually give a coherent final thought.

      I used Malala’s image because she is in the news and most people know her story but it was not a discredit to others who have come before her, those in the fight now, and those who will come after her. It was meant to be symbolic – she is female, she is young and she was shot because she had a voice. She believed in education for girls and she advocated for what she believed to be right but her behaviors went against religious fanatics and a culture that often times keep women ‘abused, barefoot, uneducated, and pregnant.’ The term, having a voice is not antichristian or a bad thing unless people perceive that it goes against the mainstream idea. Christ was killed for having a voice (he preached, taught, engaged, and challenged) and for those people around him who also used their voices to shout “Hosanna….” I did not say being timid is a sin (that was not the intention in the blog). I am focused on being timid when it is time to speak and do. I am talking about being timid when your husband beats you, being timid when your wife always bring her mother into your marriage etc.

      Your assertiveness can come from the knowledge of being both right and having a knowledge of Christ. I hate to make it seem silly but you can be assertive in an argument that the world is round which has nothing to do with Christ but prevailing facts. You can be assertive to tell an atheist that you believe in God. You can be assertive to say you don’t believe in child brides; which is not a religious sin (women were betrothed a children and married in their early teens when their menstruation started ie. Early as 13).
      I don’t think you missed the point; however, words can convey different things depending on who is reading the blog. I still welcome other people’s views. It gives me a reason to think and see the world through other people’s eyes.

      1. Thanks for the reply. You make some good points, but I still feel that your list of role models is a bit disturbing, and your view point, obviously comes from a female perspective, but I think it is bordering on sexism. While I agree many women have been disregarded or told to “shut up” this has been a situation throughout time. Class warfare between the rich and the oppression of the poor, racism/segergation, sexism between men and women. It always alarms me to hear people speaking for the rights of one particular group over those of others. This is why I respect so heartily Martin Luther King Jr. who advocated for equality for all people, and fought specific injustice.

        It is my opinion that your working thesis is wrong. “Christianity always valued certain behaviors for a ‘good Christian woman.’” Yes, they are listed in Proverbs 31. Beyond that, anything else is cultural & societal and should not be confused with Christian Dogma. We see a few examples of strong Christian women leadership in Scripture (Lydia, who owned her own business), and many in the first century of the Church. So, no, I disagree with your premise that these traditional roles have always been celebrated by the Church. Furthermore, to say “Greek” is misleading. Spartan women had much more control over their lives than the Aristocratic Athenians.

        “Religions have always been one aspect of society that holds firmly to antiquated believes on gender roles and gender behaviors.”
        Your opinion of Christianity is alarming and ignorant. Christian men and women worked hand and hand in the first century to establish the Church. Christ’s appearance to women first after his Resurrection is a testimony to God’s view of women and gender roles, because society didn’t take women seriously, but Christ did. Again, Middle Eastern Culture vs. Christian Dogma. Christianity has provided hospitals, schools, charities, all with men and women working together in the body of Christ.

        I’m not disregarding the blatant hypocrisy, sin, and sexism that is thriving in certain parts of the Church or in Western Society or in the World. I am defending the Church, which you seem to consider with disdain and I find offensive from someone who wants to give a “Single Christian Woman” perspective. As a Historian, I can attest to some terribly erroneous views, or incomplete views of the past. As a Historian, I would also point out the alarming cost of Birth Control and Margaret Sanger’s “Women’s Rights” in the last century. She is no Susan B. Anthony.

        Frankly, your opinion of the Church is depressing. It seems as if you see the Church as a worldly institution and not a divine one.

        I’d be interested to know where Scripture says that women should be timid. I would be interested to know your view of an ideal woman, and marriage, and compare it with Scripture and compare that with your viewed “Guidelines for Christian Women” in Western Civilization, and give me examples of that as a cross-comparison.

        I still hold that your treatment of Clergy and their wives is very crass. How can you learn from any male teacher, or any teacher for that matter, with an attitude like that? To say “I have said from the dawn of time that I will never date or become involved with a pastor or anyone who aspires to be one. Why? Well, I know that I would have the poor man disgraced and kicked out of his church :-). I can be opinionated, argumentative and confrontational.”
        That level of ignorance and arrogance towards clergy is detrimental. That level of cynicism and dismissal of the Church is heretical. To paint with such broad strokes is inexcusable. Are you so wild and crazy and opinionated that you would cause a Church to split? If you think you are, there are two possibilities: 1) You underestimate the strength of the Church, 2) You are proud, and not assertive. Division is from the Devil. To say that you are so opinionated that you would cause a Minister, a man you married, to lose his job, is mind-boggling. It is pure unadulterated pride. To suppose your “opinions” should be more important than the unity and fellowship of the Church. This is what has caused massive fractures and divides in the Church. Well, that and Protestantism in general. Whatever that is, that is not speaking in love, and it is not righteousness, and it is not the peace of God.

        And I say all this, because Bloggers are Teachers, whether they want to be or not. People come (such as Hiscross down below) and gleam lessons from you. Hiscross has already circulated this blog, and it may come across a new believer or a struggling Christian. Whether you intend it to or not, you are presenting a sermon, you are presenting a testimony, you are preparing ideas and sharing them on a broad scale for anyone and everyone to find. If you are so hostile to the idea of this, perhaps you should keep a journal instead of a public blog (James 3.1).

        Shalom Shabbot

        1. Wow… Let me see. I am bordering on being a sexist, can’t learn anything from a man, it is problematic to speak for one group, the examples of stellar women from the bible are just not good enough, birth control is bad, my thoughts are devil inspired, crass, heretic, ignorant, wild, crazy, misleading to new believers… I may have missed a few mud that you just threw. I am waiting for the exorcism through the internet from the extremely righteous Lpseudonyml.

          Christianity is not just a singular entity. All religions including Christianity (which includes various denominations) is heavily tied to societal norms. Judaism in Jesus’ day is not the same as it is now. The early church of apostles is not the same as it is now or throughout the ages. Reading through the bible should indicate that very clearly. I am not sure why there is a problem for advocacy for specific groups or gender. This does not nullify the importance of others.

          There is no universal ‘ideal’ marriage or wife; however, human beings have created that image. That is the reason why we have different gender roles and expectations according to various cultures and beliefs. As a historian, I am confused as to why this is a difficult concept for you. I am not sure what are you referring to when you say the “Church.” Catholic has their own church, Anglican has their own church etc. Jesus’ will not look on a group of people but the hearts of individual man. So you can call me a heretic but there is a difference between institution and the sinner who has been saved and accepts God. Those redeemed sinners sit in the pews of many different denominations- that is the bible reference to the church. To use recent public events, the abuse of children by the clergy does not imply that all Catholic priest are pedophiles. However, the religious institution orchestrated a system that protected the sinners and hurt the innocent. This and other sins have permeated many churches (houses of worship with a congregation or religious authorities).

          I actually think you are missing the point. You admit that there are sexism and hypocrisy which are things to which I am referring. So I don’t see the reason for your offense. Anyway, I will not be doing an internet battle. I see some of your protest as being in denial that there are prevailing beliefs in Christianity that suppress and have defined expectations of Christian women (and men) and you disagree strongly.

          I do not idolize clergy just because of their positions-Judas was one of the 12, Saul was a servant of God, and priests and pastors have committed crimes. Again, God sees the heart of an individual not what they are wearing and outward public display. I try to put my trust in GOD not man or institution.

          Being a pastor and pastor’s wife is a very specific calling, which is not suited for everyone. I don’t think you understand my reference to most of the things to which I wrote. Obviously, your church experiences have been a little more pristine and perfect than the Christian world to which I have come to understand. Since you overlooked the last paragraph of the blog, Christian women DO NOT fit a single mold but we are on a spectrum from Rahab the prostitute (lineage of Jesus) to Mary the virgin (the earthly mother of Jesus).

          Last but not least, since my blog offends you so much, then you have the option like everyone else to stop reading or feel free to use the comment section as an opportunity to ‘teach’ not mud slinging.

  2. Just found this blog and I love it! I shall be copying to a blog written by a woman who believes women should not have suffrage.

    We have many assertive women in my church. What concerns me is that we are 1) not training the young men to be able to manage an assertive woman or 2) driving them away before they understand the worth of an assertive woman. I do believe there are times when women should be strategically quiet but it must be balanced with strategic assertion when things really matter.

    BTW, the tactic of being quiet and letting him fall on his face tactic is a good strategy if you have someone who will not recognize that God has endowed you with discernment, sound judgment, and a brain. If a man has a record of not listening to his wife when she is fulfilling her role as helpmeet, then she has to let him suffer the possibly God ordained consequences.

    1. Hiscross, I too believe that there is a time for everything – a time to speak up and a time to be quiet. You said, “If a man has a record of not listening to his wife when she is fulfilling her role as helpmeet, then she has to let him suffer the possibly God ordained consequences.” I will go one step further and say that their marriage will be filled with problems because there is lack of communication between partners. Either way, things are not good in the relationship with each other and God.

  3. One of the problems with being assertive, is that one who is assertive will almost always fly in the face of the “powers-that-be”. Assertive people are regarded as “trouble-makers”. That is one of the reasons I have never been “popular”, because I call it as I see it. I call a “spade” a SPADE, not a politically-correct “dirt-digging-instrument”. If it looks like a duck, walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it is a DUCK, not an “endangered waterfowl”.

    Those who are “in power” have a vested interest in remaining in power. They are enamored with their positions and authority. They are not to be questioned. They don’t like “boat-rockers”. Anyone who rocks the boat, or questions their authority, represents a challenge to their authority, and must be subdued or eliminated. The greater the perceived challenge to their authority, the stronger their reaction.

    Several years ago, I was involved in a major, multi-company test program, that lasted several years. A vital part of the program was monthly planning meetings, with the meeting schedule announced months in advance, so participants could make appropriate travel arrangements. At the end of one particular meeting, the test director announced the date for our next meeting. One of the guys from his own company, a banty-rooster (little guy w/ a big ego) said “engineering can’t support that”. I stopped him in his tracks, by telling him, in the hearing of all, that he had had the schedule for months, and that the schedule conflict was his problem, not ours. I was a test technologist, and he was an engineering manager. By the time I flew back home, he had already called my manager and told him about what I had said and done. He also all but demanded that I be relieved of my responsibilities for that program, and even hinted that I should be fired. My manager talked to me about it, and suggested that I might be a bit more tactful next time. He knew the banty-rooster, and considered the source. I had bruised his enormous ego, and challenged his authority. Needless to say, I was kept on the program until it ended a couple of years later. My manager had a very high regard for the work I did, as did the test manager.

    While an assertive woman may face more flack than a man in similar circumstances, a assertive man is no more “popular” than an assertive woman. As believers, we are called to speak the truth – in love, but the need to speak the truth in love doesn’t let us off the hook from speaking the truth. Truth isn’t always “popular”, and neither are the messengers of the truth…male or female. If we speak the truth, particularly the truth of Scripture, the truth is always on our side.

    There are times when being assertive is necessary, and can even be a life-saver. Speak the truth in love, but still speak the truth.

    God bless!

    Steve

Tell Me What You Think

